Michael Stern – Blessed Be

blessed be cover art

Blessed Be features 22 additional original songs from Michael, all based on biblical images about faith and action. There are songs about Old Testament prophets who cry out for justice, and refrains that echo from the Psalms. There are songs about Jesus who calls us to be peacemakers and show compassion towards the poor.

A companion songbook is available form Beatin’ Path Publications (see link). In it each song is biblically referenced to help guide the selection and use of the songs, and facilitate planning for worship. For the same reason, each has been paired with a brief vignette to prompt reflections on the song and its scriptural illusions. The printed music is presented in a format that is accessible, readable, and singable for a variety of folk musicians, singers, and song leaders.

Released 2022 Compact Disc and Digital Album

  1. Blessed Be God’s Name
  2. Blessed Peace
  3. Count Well the Cost
  4. Glory
  5. Hurt Not the EarthJourney in Hope
  6. Jubilee
  7. Lest We Forget
  8. Love As I Have Loved You
  9. May Your Hope Arise
  10. Nothing Without Love
  11. One & All
  12. Peace & Justice Will-Kiss
  13. Phoenix & the Golden Rule
  14. Providence
  15. Revive Us Again
  16. Season of Song
  17. Standing in Oppression’s Way
  18. Stay True
  19. Such a Time as This
  20. What Does the Lord Require of The
  21. Who Can Tell